What is a CEN grade?

Estimated 1 minute read time.
The CEN grade of a padlock stands for Central European Norm - it is a testing standard for padlocks.  This is not simply a rating individual manufacturers give their own padlocks it is an independent testing body.  In order for the padlock to achieve a certain CEN grade it must pass through a number of intensive tests. 

There are 6 levels in the CEN grade:

CEN Grade 6 - Maximum Security
CEN Grade 5 - Extra Security
CEN Grade 4 - High Security
CEN Grade 3 - Medium Security
CEN Grade 2 - Standard Entry Level Security
CEN Grade 1 - Low Security 

CEN Grade Chart

The CEN grade is useful when it comes to choosing the correct padlock across different manufacturers.  The better the CEN grade the more expensive the lock is likely to be.  

You will fine our selection of CEN grade padlocks within the High Security Padlocks section.  The CEN grade is clearly displayed within each individual padlock.

Lincolnshire County Council
Nottingham City Council

Our website uses cookies so that we can provide a better service. Continue to use the site as normal if you're happy with this, or find out how to manage cookies.   x